#### **ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

**September 21, 2020** 

Virtual Meeting (via Zoom)

**Board Members:** Ellen Paterson, President

Daria Thompson, Vice-President

Linda Grainger, Secretary Sheran Barker, Director Rae Kingsbury, Director Wilf Navarrete, Director

**Program Coordinator:** Kaytlyn Pike

**Voting Delegates:** 

Irene Laing (1A)	Susan Raymond (2A)	Mark Ling (5)
Guy Chaput (7)	Linda Vickers (8)	Jim Murphy (9)
Lea Lake (10)	Mary Johnson (11)	John Lyon (12)
Maureen Keeping (13)	Charlotte Widdifield (14)	Wilf Navarrete (15)
Thomas Wetzel (16)	Laura Taal (17)	Vanna Chiem (19)
Denise Bourgon (20)	Petra Halk (21)	Brian Harvey (24)
Doris Henhawk (25)	Joanne Lenos (26)	Ellen Paterson (27)
Gail Prior (29)	Kim Benke (30)	Julie Leadbetter (32)
Donald Hector (33A)		

## **Non-Voting Delegates:**

Helen Belanger (2A)	Irene Churchill (5)	David Cave (7)
Stephanie Hill-Nicholls (8)	Donald Rider (12)	Angie Richard (14)
Shirley Hickman (17)	Marion Ody (19)	Nigel Punton (21)
Sandy Crowther (25)	Felicia Urbanski (26)	Randy Taylor (26)
Richard MacDonald (27)	Valerie Waines (30)	

# ONTARIO SENIOR GAMES ASSOCIATION ASSOCIATION DES JEUX DES AÎNÉ(E)S DE L'ONTARIO

Guests: Ryan Albright, Ministry of Heritage, Sport,

**Tourism and Culture Industries** 

Jason Robinson, Sport Law & Strategy Group

### **Material Distributed in Advance to Delegates:**

AGM Agenda, OSGA Draft 2019 AGM Minutes, BDO Financial Review Engagement, Board Report, Financial Report, 2020 Proposed Slate of Nominations, District 14 Motion

1.	Call to order at 9:35 a.m.
	Ellen Paterson called the meeting to order. She welcomed everyone
	to our first virtual AGM. She introduced Jason Robinson from Sport
	Law & Strategy Group. Jason will be assisting us with voting and
	will act as our parliamentarian.
2.	Determination of Quorum
	Ellen called on Kaytlyn Pike, Program Coordinator to provide a
	report on voting delegates. Kaytlyn did a roll call to confirm
	attendance. Kaytlyn reported that there were 25 voting delegates
	present. Ellen declared that there is a quorum.
3.	Appointment of Scrutineers
	Jason Robinson was appointed to act as our independent voting
	scrutineer.
4.	Approval of the Agenda
	Joanne Lenos (26) requested an opportunity to discuss the OSGA
	website. This item will be added as an informal discussion following
	the Election of Directors.
	With unanimous consent, Ellen declared that we will proceed with
	the agenda as amended.
5.	Declaration of Conflicts of Interest
	None declared.
6.	Minutes of the 2019 Annual General Meeting
	Corrections: Laura Taal (District 17 not 16); Vanna Chiem (District
	19 not 21)
	With unanimous consent, Ellen declared that the minutes are
	approved as amended.
7.	Board Report
	This report was distributed in advance of the meeting.

8.	Report of Auditors	
	This report was distributed in advance of the meeting.	
	a. Appointment of Auditor	
	Ellen called on Daria Thompson, Vice-President. Daria reported that	
	the Board is recommending the appointment of BDO Canada LLP as	
	the auditor for the coming year.	
	Moved and Seconded: To appoint BDO Canada LLP as the	
	auditor for the financial year ending March 31, 2021. CARRIED.	
9.	Motion from District 14 (Angie Richard)	
	Ellen advised that the following motion was submitted more than 30	
	days prior to the AGM as required by the OSGA Bylaws. It was	
	therefore included on the agenda for this meeting.	
	Moved by Angie Richard District 14, Seconded by Bob	
	Tremblay, District 19: The position of the appointed Director for	
	Ontario at the Canada 55+ Games committee is a six (6) year	
	position. In year number six (6) the successor be named and is	
	names as the alternate and attends the Canada 55+ Games for that	
	year and their expenses are paid by the OSGA to attend. That year	
	is not considered as part of the six (6) years they are to serve as	
	Director for Ontario on the Canada 55+ Games committee. The	
	Director for Ontario at the Canada 55+ Games committee does not	
	require being a director on the OSGA Board. They are required to	
	report with updated to the OSGA board.	
	(The reasoning behind this motion is to have a person at the Canada	
	55+ Games table with knowledge of previous years to move forward	
	in the future.)	
	Ellen declared this motion out of order as it directly conflicts with the	
	Canada Games bylaws which state that "the term of office of the	
10	Directors shall be two (2) years".	
10.	Election of New Directors	
	Ellen reported that there are five (5) positions up for election. A	
	proposed slate of nominees as well as biographies were distributed	
	in advance of the meeting. Elections will be conducted in the	
	following order: Treasurer, Secretary, Directors. All candidates will	
	be elected to serve a two (2) year term.	
	Treasurer	
	There is one (1) nomination for Treasurer – Mark Ling. Ellen called	
	for further nominations three (3) times. No further nominations.	
	Ellen declared nominations closed. Ellen reminded delegates that	

## ONTARIO SENIOR GAMES ASSOCIATION ASSOCIATION DES JEUX DES AÎNÉ(E)S DE L'ONTARIO

our bylaws require that a candidate be elected by Ordinary Resolution (majority of votes), even if there is only one (1) nominee. Delegates were asked to vote. Ellen declared Mark Ling elected as Treasurer.

#### **Secretary**

There is one (1) nomination for Secretary – Linda Grainger. Ellen called for further nominations three (3) times. No further nominations. Ellen declared nominations closed. Delegates were asked to vote. Ellen declared Linda Grainger elected as Secretary.

#### Directors (3 to be elected)

Four (4) nominations have been received – Sheran Barker, Richard MacDonald, Donald Rider and Valerie Waines. Ellen called for further nominations three (3) times. No further nominations. Each nominee was invited to give a brief speech prior to the election. Ellen reminded delegates that a candidate requires a majority vote in order to be elected.

Delegates were asked to vote for up to three (3) Directors. On the first ballot, none of the candidates received majority vote. Therefore, according to our bylaws, the candidate with the fewest votes is removed from the ballot and another vote will take place.

Names on 2<sup>nd</sup> ballot: Sheran Barker, Richard MacDonald and Donald Rider. Ellen declared all three (3) candidates elected as each one received a majority vote.

Ellen congratulated all those elected. With unanimous consent, Ellen directed Jason Robinson, scrutineer to maintain in confidence the votes and to erase all electronic ballots and voting results.

#### 11. Information Discussion re: Website

Joanne Lenos (26) asked for an update on changes to the website. Ellen called on Kaytlyn Pike to provide this update. Kaytlyn advised that work is still being done to revamp the website. For example, registration for this AGM was done using a different database as a trial for possible future use. Don Rider volunteered to assist with this.

## 12. Adjournment

Ellen declared the meeting adjourned as all matters of business on the agenda were complete. Ellen expressed thanks to all members for their participation.